9 1/2 Weeks - 08 - (Week 3: Monday)
Jan. 7th, 2013 02:40 pmHeader & Posting Info | Story index.
Week 3: Monday
"I thought I'd ask because my papers didn't come back for a month. I hope I'm not inconveniencing you." Jin bows into the phone again.
"We're a small business, right?" Komine-san at the other end says. "Papers, that takes time. I'm sorry, right?"
"Yes, of course. I understand completely."
"So you need them back urgently?"
"No," Jin says quickly. "No, I just meant to ask if you kept them because... if the position was still—"
"Oh," Komine-san says, "I see, I see, but I'm afraid no, we filled it quickly, needed hands for the job, right? Got filled the first week. Just, we're a small business and haven't gotten round to the papers, right?"
"Right," Jin says. "Of course. I'm sorry I bothered you."
He combed his hair before calling, felt like an idiot even then, feels like a bigger one now.
"So, we'll send them back," Komine says. "Next week, I'll make sure."
"Please don't rush, it's not that urgent. You can also keep them and if you need somebody else, you could... I'd be very happy to work in a small company. I've worked in a bento company before, I really enjoyed it."
There's a pause at the other end, and Jin knows it's stupid, knows it doesn't make a difference— "Yes, we got that, just, not that many jobs here, okay? There's other companies, right? Good luck."
Jin drops on the chair and runs a hand through his hair, clutching a fistful. "Thank you very much. I appreciate you taking the time..."
Blah blah blah, polite polite polite, whatever whatever whatever and a few minutes later he is off the phone, and carefully not flinging it at the opposite wall because he can't afford a new one.
Well, fuck.
It's just a job. One of a dozen he's tried for, nothing special. The hourly rate was low anyway. A small business, right?
Except for once he actually had experience, as close as it gets to qualifications, and it's not like he's swimming in those. For filling fucking bento boxes. And still it didn't matter.
He's too old for this shit.
He gets up, then throws himself back down. Not even room enough to pace.
His guitar's right there, because he does practice, he was a good boy again. Here, he can do something useful. He lunges right into it. It takes the focus off the bentos, and phone calls, and another interview he wore the suit to.
That's a very angry hot dog.
The thought makes him snort. Maybe this is some giant joke after all. Jin gets more free time to wait around and Kamenashi gets rampaging hot dogs for his enjoyment.
He takes it slower on the next round. It's a cute little melody, works even without the electronics. He wasn't bad at his job, not always. Not at the music.
He liked that bento job, it was quiet. Until they hired a new girl who knew who Jin Akanishi was and his presence 'created a disturbance.' His life right there, creating disturbances all over the place. Making a fuss.
So now he's singing easy dance tunes in acoustic for Kamenashi, Johnny's drama handler and shining idol.
He wonders if Kamenashi even vaguely knows these songs. Did he still listen to Jin's albums? The first one? The second one, or maybe the last, desperate one, when Jin learned what it costs to rent his own studio and band? Jin didn't keep up with KAT-TUN but that was different, that started to hurt.
He hums along with the melody on the next pass, but even unsung the words feel shallow. Maybe it's petty to go for something meaningless like this. Cheating. Last time wasn't safe, but when were they last safe with each other?
The hot dogs fade out and Care is back just like that, Care and Kamenashi measuring Jin's haircut and maybe the quality of Jin's t-shirts. The song nothing but background. He wonders what Kamenashi did to prepare.
Jin lets it run to the end. It's funny. Of all the people who now get to fuck him around, Kamenashi is the only one where he doesn't have to act all polite and grateful for it. It might even creep Kame out if he did.
That thought cracks him up. Maybe that's why he's not more outraged about it all, and why he's sitting here wondering about cheating.
Week 3: Monday
"I thought I'd ask because my papers didn't come back for a month. I hope I'm not inconveniencing you." Jin bows into the phone again.
"We're a small business, right?" Komine-san at the other end says. "Papers, that takes time. I'm sorry, right?"
"Yes, of course. I understand completely."
"So you need them back urgently?"
"No," Jin says quickly. "No, I just meant to ask if you kept them because... if the position was still—"
"Oh," Komine-san says, "I see, I see, but I'm afraid no, we filled it quickly, needed hands for the job, right? Got filled the first week. Just, we're a small business and haven't gotten round to the papers, right?"
"Right," Jin says. "Of course. I'm sorry I bothered you."
He combed his hair before calling, felt like an idiot even then, feels like a bigger one now.
"So, we'll send them back," Komine says. "Next week, I'll make sure."
"Please don't rush, it's not that urgent. You can also keep them and if you need somebody else, you could... I'd be very happy to work in a small company. I've worked in a bento company before, I really enjoyed it."
There's a pause at the other end, and Jin knows it's stupid, knows it doesn't make a difference— "Yes, we got that, just, not that many jobs here, okay? There's other companies, right? Good luck."
Jin drops on the chair and runs a hand through his hair, clutching a fistful. "Thank you very much. I appreciate you taking the time..."
Blah blah blah, polite polite polite, whatever whatever whatever and a few minutes later he is off the phone, and carefully not flinging it at the opposite wall because he can't afford a new one.
Well, fuck.
It's just a job. One of a dozen he's tried for, nothing special. The hourly rate was low anyway. A small business, right?
Except for once he actually had experience, as close as it gets to qualifications, and it's not like he's swimming in those. For filling fucking bento boxes. And still it didn't matter.
He's too old for this shit.
He gets up, then throws himself back down. Not even room enough to pace.
His guitar's right there, because he does practice, he was a good boy again. Here, he can do something useful. He lunges right into it. It takes the focus off the bentos, and phone calls, and another interview he wore the suit to.
That's a very angry hot dog.
The thought makes him snort. Maybe this is some giant joke after all. Jin gets more free time to wait around and Kamenashi gets rampaging hot dogs for his enjoyment.
He takes it slower on the next round. It's a cute little melody, works even without the electronics. He wasn't bad at his job, not always. Not at the music.
He liked that bento job, it was quiet. Until they hired a new girl who knew who Jin Akanishi was and his presence 'created a disturbance.' His life right there, creating disturbances all over the place. Making a fuss.
So now he's singing easy dance tunes in acoustic for Kamenashi, Johnny's drama handler and shining idol.
He wonders if Kamenashi even vaguely knows these songs. Did he still listen to Jin's albums? The first one? The second one, or maybe the last, desperate one, when Jin learned what it costs to rent his own studio and band? Jin didn't keep up with KAT-TUN but that was different, that started to hurt.
He hums along with the melody on the next pass, but even unsung the words feel shallow. Maybe it's petty to go for something meaningless like this. Cheating. Last time wasn't safe, but when were they last safe with each other?
The hot dogs fade out and Care is back just like that, Care and Kamenashi measuring Jin's haircut and maybe the quality of Jin's t-shirts. The song nothing but background. He wonders what Kamenashi did to prepare.
Jin lets it run to the end. It's funny. Of all the people who now get to fuck him around, Kamenashi is the only one where he doesn't have to act all polite and grateful for it. It might even creep Kame out if he did.
That thought cracks him up. Maybe that's why he's not more outraged about it all, and why he's sitting here wondering about cheating.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-07 02:50 pm (UTC)Anyway, great update! And now he's thinking about cheating... wow, I'll be waiting anxiously for their next playdate :D Seems like their interaction will reveal even more things this time.
Thanks for the wonderful chappie!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:45 pm (UTC)This was a bit of a short one but we're glad if it was fun anyway! :-) Thank you so much for the feedback!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-07 03:02 pm (UTC)(I try to avoid to talk about Jin's terrible situation, please make his life easier soon ;A;)
The way you tell this story is just so wonderful ^_____^
I actually cracked up, just like Jin, as I read to the line "...might even creep Kame out if he did."
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:45 pm (UTC)Hee hee heeeee. You might have caught him out there!
Thank you very much for the support and the great comments! :D And we're glad there was something funny in all of Jin's gloom. >_>
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-07 05:33 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:48 pm (UTC)Thank you for
your sympathycommenting. :)(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-07 08:19 pm (UTC)And, Jin just going back to his music and playing Care again and thinking of Kame, it was both really sad and sweet. Sweet because it's nice that even after everything, Care still has special meaning to him and that he seems to appreciate Kame for letting him be himself. X3 But sad because, it's like music and Kame are kinda all he has left at the end of the day, the only things that he can depend on. Since he still sort of has to fight/ask permission sometimes just to see his kids or put together their desks. |D
DAMMIT JIN EVEN WHEN I'M ANNOYED WITH YOU I STILL FEEL SORRY FOR YOU SOMETIMES AFDSFSGDCFHGCH
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:48 pm (UTC)Yeah, the music and Kame... but face it, a couple of weeks ago he didn't even have that. #improvement #glasshalffull
Thank you for this cool comment. We're happy we can make you feel sorry for Jin! ♥
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 06:31 pm (UTC)OMFG AHAHAHA! XD
Oh while on the note about Kame, you guys are really doing a great job showing the slow, but nice progress of their relationship from "ARGH YOU FUCKING BASTARD" to "Eh, he's alright and kinda turns me on". XDD
You're welcome, as always.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-07 08:55 pm (UTC)ganbatte, Jin.
thanks for the update. i think i missed some chapters before this. :(
i'll catch up.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:49 pm (UTC)Jin is ganbarimasing, just... T_____T
Thank you for your comment! :DDD
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 12:09 am (UTC)and now he starts thinking about Kame and- it's going to be so good
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:49 pm (UTC)You are an optimist! :p Or an M. Or both! So we shall not apologize for breaking any hearts just yet. >_>
Thank you for commenting! :D
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-09 12:55 am (UTC)but i guess even you the writers can't keep on making jin suffer forever- it will have to end at some point....... RIGHT?
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-09 02:34 pm (UTC)Sure. In some way. At some point. >_>
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 04:26 am (UTC)I sincerely hope this does not happen in reality. If all things fail, I hope his troop backs him up!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:50 pm (UTC)Yeah, music and bento packing, not the most amazing CV. :-/
Thank you for the feedback! ♥
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:16 am (UTC)And... Care... again... ouch and sigh and... feels. So many of them.
I like that he's kind of thinking of Kame more positively (?). Ok, not THAT positively, but at least as someone he doesn't have to *behave* with :P
I'll be
stalkingwaiting anxiously for the next chapter :D(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:56 pm (UTC)Ok, not THAT positively, but at least as someone he doesn't have to *behave* with
Yup. You could say that's really quite a positive, for Jin in his situation. :p
Happy stalking! And thank you for commenting! ♥
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:26 am (UTC)and now he gets rejected once again..and he got experience for the job too..
seems like kame's the only one giving him something to do and it's what he does best, music..
will he really be singing the hotdog song for the next meeting with kame?
him wondering if kame listens to his music after going solo made me wonder too..
so he released 3 albums?assuming here that sales for his albums went down from the first one to the last..now i'm totally wondering what could possibly happened that resulted to how's jin is right now..
jin didn't keep up with KAT-TUN stuff because it started to hurt? maybe he had small regrets on leaving..or is it something else?
thanks for the update!!!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:56 pm (UTC)One might wonder. Probably because he doesn't count for much in the industry itself any more, but has remaining squeeing fangirls who will disrupt everything when they see him.
Thing is, he never did anything while he was famous that would give him a springboard. He's really just a musician, an excellent one. But look at Kame, who can really become anything he likes if he ever stops being in KAT-TUN... Jin's not got that sort of experience, or those sorts of connections.
seems like kame's the only one giving him something to do and it's what he does best, music.
Yes, pretty much. And not just what he does best - what he loves best.
will he really be singing the hotdog song for the next meeting with kame?
You'll just have to wait and see. :))))
now i'm totally wondering what could possibly happened that resulted to how's jin is right now..
We'll touch on that. Give us time. Tiiiiiime. :) But we're glad you're wondering.
Thank you for this cool comment!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:47 am (UTC)looking forward to the next part ^__^ <3333
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-08 05:56 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-09 02:10 pm (UTC)He's trying so hard, and getting nothing out of but humiliation. Really, this and the thing with the landlord, they make me cringe so much more than Kamenashi scenes ever could. And I think it's interesting that Jin feels the same way, there in the end.
I liked the cheating thing a lot. Wonder what Jin is going to sing, somehow I don't feel it's going to be the angry hotdog. ;)
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-09 02:33 pm (UTC)Really, this and the thing with the landlord, they make me cringe so much more than Kamenashi scenes ever could.
We are mean evil authors but also quite pleased. *g* Thank you kindly!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-10 06:46 am (UTC)Jin got rejected again. This industry is really cruel or maybe this is normal. He is a musician and the only thing he can do well is singing. He lost his job and he lost his chances. Now he is just a man without any education and experience and the bonus is his fame.
But still he can sing for Kame XD
Like this part!! Thank you for sharing :)
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-10 06:37 pm (UTC)But on the other hand there is singing for Kame! >_>
Thank you for your comment! ♥♥♥
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-10 04:11 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-10 07:22 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-10 07:37 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-12 11:15 am (UTC)One of us is slightly OCD, and she accuses the other one of being totally OCD. This is how that works.
Does it sound weird to say that we thought nobody would notice and just did it for our own delight and pleasure? You're too good! :)
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-20 08:47 am (UTC)But Kame seems to be more present in his thoughts now. Like Jin is getting used to him being in his life again. And wondering what he thinks and does. What he did in all those years and how much he knows about Jin and the whole drama that happened in his life. It’s interesting how Jin can’t seem to stop wondering. And how is mind sometimes drifts back to the past. How he seems to feel safe when he realizes some things haven’t changed between them. That he knows he doesn’t have to be super polite with Kame. That he can still talk back. That at those moments Kamenashi becomes Kame again. Very awesome how you play with that name there and how that indicates a little how Jin feels about Kame at which time. And how it seems so natural for him to think about Kame that way. How he might have a little fun at getting on Kame’s nerves, maybe because that also shows him that there’s still some kind of familiarity between them. (Or maybe it’s just me hoping it is like that… xD”)
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-20 08:01 pm (UTC)It would help if he'd finished high school... maybe. But then he'd probably also get recognised, so, maybe not. *sigh*
It’s interesting how Jin can’t seem to stop wondering.
:D Yes.
Oh, the name thing, glad that worked and didn't just feel random. And you're totally spot-on about how Jin doesn't have to be polite to Kame and how important that is. And also, yeah, annoying the little shit. *g*
*____________*