9 1/2 Weeks - 22 - (Week 6: Sunday)
Jan. 27th, 2013 01:00 pmHeader & Posting Info | Story index.
Week 6: Sunday
On Sunday the phone beeps him out of leaden sleep. Jin gropes for it, sees Kame's number, and has a freight train of adrenaline slam into him.
Then he realizes it's an e-mail. Fucking nightshift.
Jin rolls on his back, blinks. Sorry, it reads. Yesterday was busy. Then there's an American number and two email addresses, TomoTorrent@facebook.com and yt.04.2015@gmail.com. Jin can guess which is the personal one.
So now he has those. He's also slept for three fucking hours, and it's fucking Sunday. He rolls over, sticks his head under the covers for the darkness. But it's too hot even for him, and his head is dumb and full of Pi.
He gives up after half an hour or so. There goes his beauty sleep, but it's Kame's own fault.
Did he just think that? Oh, fuck it, who cares. He staggers to the bathroom.
When he comes out again he feels cleaner but no more awake. Before he can even think about how this might go down, he'll need another two hours and at least two coffees.
What time is is there anyway? It's funny, used to be he knew PDT like a second internal clock, and Texas was a bit East. It'll be eight or so.
Coffee. He makes it; drinks it; sits down with his phone. God he's nervous.
He could write an e-mail, of course. That doesn't depend on timezones. His head is blank, but he could explain, he'd have room to think this through.
Who is he kidding, he can't even think now. And he'd wait for an answer and if there's no answer...
He checks to make sure of the time, and why does staring at fucking Google Maps make him depressed?
Eight was right. That means calling's okay for another three hours, for normal people in this job. Unless he waits till tomorrow. Tonight he's in his box.
Eight years, give or take. What's another day?
He drinks his coffee. His stomach hates it.
He needs to think. A walk through the June heat makes him sweaty, endless pavement and pounding beats, and he thought he'd have better ideas without his four walls closing in on him but his brain isn't playing. Broken record, stuck on 'Hi…'.
Three hours of sleep, and a Bakanishi brain.
When he gets home he has another coffee, and his stomach really hates it and his hands hate it, but all the waiting in the world's not going to change that.
The American dial tone makes him feel old, so many years since he heard it all the time, years since he heard it at all. He almost hangs up because that, on top of how he doesn't even know if Pi—
"Hello?" a voice says in English on the other end, and it's all just gone, his head stuttering on empty.
"Hi. It's Akanishi. Jin. Hi."
There's silence, stretching. But that, he had expected. "Jin. Hi. Are you—"
At least Pi knew where to place this Akanishi guy calling him after eight years of nothing. He waits, but next Pi says distantly, "Guys, can you finish with unloading? I'll be outside, I need a moment."
His English is so good.
He hears shuffling and noise and his own hammering heart. Then Pi, in Japanese again, "I have a gig in one hour."
A gay gig in Texas. Jin wishes he was there. "Yeah," he says.
It sounds better than I have five minutes or What do you want? or Fuck off and die.
"How are you?" he tries.
"I'm good," Pi says. "Working, keeping busy. You?"
"I'm good too." If the line was any better, Pi would know he's a liar. "Doing stuff, you know."
"How are your kids?"
His kids. Pi's never even met Sara. "They're fine. They're great."
Silence during which Jin wonders what on earth he could ask about, or say. The weather in Texas?
"And how's Meisa?" Pi says.
"Well, it's... she's fine too."
More silence. You could write a song about that silence.
"I'm sorry I— this feels so weird," Jin says. "I should have called sooner."
"Really," Pi says. "How about you should have not stopped in the first place, you asshole? What the fuck was that about, why'd you stop answering my messages?" It sounds pissed off and hurt and for the first time Jin wants to laugh.
"I..."
"You haven't paid your phone bill in eight years? What the fuck, Jin?"
"I'm sorry, it just…" Okay, to hell with pride. "I was afraid, okay?"
"A… what? When? Before you started ignoring me?"
"Not of you, I was afraid I'd ruin things for you."
"By talking to me." Pi sounds like this is the greatest load of bullshit anybody's ever tried to sell him and he's not pleased.
"By... if you were associated with me," Jin says. "Everyone was hating me and I knew people were getting shit just for talking to me, and then you went to America and it was bad enough that I'd gone there first and I didn't want to create any more problems for you. And also I'm a loser." There it is, in a nutshell. He's breathing hard. "I missed you. But you didn't need to go around with losers."
"I can hang around losers if I want to," Pi says furiously. "Or dumbfucks."
Jin's bones feel suddenly wobbly, but he can breathe again. And smile. "Yeah," he says, "you can, but you've got to allow the dumbfuck to feel kind of responsible."
"Huh," Pi says. And then, "Dumbfuck."
"I'm really sorry."
"You could at least have told me why." Petulant Pi tone, taking him back fifteen years and more.
He rolls his eyes towards the cracked plaster on his ceiling. "And watch you make statements about how dumbfucks are friends too on national TV."
"I—"
"Yes, you would've." Listening to him now, Jin's just as sure of it as he was then.
There's a pause at the other end, Pi giving in without admitting it. Just like he always did. His voice when he talks again doesn't sound quarrelsome at all. "But god, Jin… eight fucking years…"
"Yeah, I… that wasn't the plan. I thought until things had settled, you'd got established, just… time just went by and nothing ever got better and suddenly it was all so far away."
The silence doesn't scare him now. That's just them sorting their brains. Which is always good, when they usually manage about one and a half between them.
"So how are you, really?" Pi asks.
Jin draws a breath and suddenly his filters are off, the sun shining in on him with a sting. "I haven't been doing so well," he says. "Better right now, actually. But it's been…" Lonely. He can't even say how much. "I'm not really seeing many people. Most of the old troop is gone, I got nothing to do with the company anymore..." He takes a breath. "I see my kids when I can."
"When you—"
"Meisa and I split," he says. "Five years ago."
"I read about that," Pi admits, and sure, yeah, Jin's last great tour through the gossip columns, his victory lap. "But Meisa, she's not... I mean, you two don't—"
"No! We're still friendly, she's great, just..." And then it all tumbles out, the hunt for jobs, the lack of money, the stress, his kids and his shitty apartment and the death of his marriage. "Loser," he says, and figures Pi can hear the shrug through the line.
"You should come out here," Pi says, so forceful that it doesn't even hurt that it's impossible.
"I can't," Jin says.
"No, I meant— Oh, of course. Your kids. I'm sorry. I just meant..." He hears an annoyed, familiar sigh. "I'm so glad you called."
Jin nods at the phone and has a lump in his throat, and Pi is silent too. They're a pair of mope-heads.
"How did you get this number, though?" Pi says at last.
"I asked Kame. Keeper of all useful information."
Pi whistles softly through his teeth. "I didn't think he still had time for dumbfucks."
Jin can't help a little laugh. "It's not like that, it's…" How is it? Complicated. Unexpected. "I don't think he's got time for anybody who isn't a problem or the solution to one."
Pi laughs, too. It's got a sharpness to it. "That sounds about right."
"You see him much?" Jin asks. He's got no idea. Doesn't know what he would prefer, for these two to be friends without him or just colleagues, and if it's different from what he'd have preferred an hour ago.
"Not really," Pi says. "He's trying to keep me out of Japan, I've only been back for the mini-tours in the last two years."
"Oh," Jin says. He's safe over there. "I didn't know it was that bad."
There's a pause. Jin can hear cars in the background. "It's not bad. I mean, not like with you. I'm okay. But there's a lot of weird shit going down at the company and we figured it was best for me to stay out of it if I can. Kame's been helpful. He's just..."
It hangs there. Jin doesn't even try to finish it.
"Cold," Pi says. "He's changed. I barely see him when I'm there and then he's got managers on me every minute, like I'm some Junior who can't manage to pee by himself. Like I'll go on stage naked or get some chick pregnant..."
It still makes his heart skip a beat, even as a figure of speech. Jin stares and thinks it fits, Kame being determined that nobody's going to pull an Akanishi on his watch.
"God, sorry," Pi says. "I didn't mean it like that."
"I know," Jin says. "But he should trust you."
"He trusts nobody." It's sobering when Pi sounds cold, too.
"But your stuff is going well," Jin says, "right? Having fun with cowboys?"
"You know about the cowboys?" Pi asks, sounding nervous and much warmer.
"I heard," Jin grins back.
"They're... mostly gay," Pi says, and Jin thinks he can hear him blushing and he's snickering like he's twelve.
"Heard that, too."
"Ha ha ha ha." Pi is rolling his eyes, Jin just knows it.
"I think you were smart," Jin says. "I'm happy it worked out for you."
A door slams, and Pi calls, "Yes, guys, in a minute!" To Jin he says, "Well, it's not baseball stadiums, but yeah. I like it. They don't even mind when I'm dating. It's kind of relaxing."
Jin laughs again. And he wants to hear everything, every little thing.
"Do you need to go back?" he asks.
"I should," Pi says slowly. "Yeah."
"That's fine," Jin says, though the lump in his throat hasn't got that message and probably makes him sound weird.
"Listen, man. You call me again. You hear that? You fucking call me. If you don't, I'll run away from Kamenashi's watchdogs and kill you and stab you. And send me a damn picture of your kids. My e-mail is y-t-0-4—"
"I've got your e-mail," Jin says. "I'll call." And he's got a hundred things going through his head at once, Pi being busy and weird time zones and not wanting to be a pest, but he'll sort it, somehow. "I promise. And I'm sorry."
"Yeah," Pi huffs. "You take care of yourself. Dumbfuck. Send me e-mail."
"I will," Jin says, and knows they could go around for another ten minutes, so he decides to be a grown-up. "Now go be gay and badass. I have to go to work."
Five more minutes after all, because now Pi wants to know about the work. It's just so hard to let go.
But eventually Jin manages to hang up. A click, and it's quiet. He stares at his hand which is tight around his phone, and it takes him a moment to remember that he's not a convict who's allowed one call a month.
He can even e-mail straight away. He sorts through his phone until he finds the picture he took of Sara and Akira outside the haunted house and attaches it to a quick mail, subject line: My kids, braver than me.
Inside, he writes, "Jin's kids, post 00001 of 75000, please stay tuned," and when he hits send, he's already grinning when he thinks of the reply.
Week 6: Sunday
On Sunday the phone beeps him out of leaden sleep. Jin gropes for it, sees Kame's number, and has a freight train of adrenaline slam into him.
Then he realizes it's an e-mail. Fucking nightshift.
Jin rolls on his back, blinks. Sorry, it reads. Yesterday was busy. Then there's an American number and two email addresses, TomoTorrent@facebook.com and yt.04.2015@gmail.com. Jin can guess which is the personal one.
So now he has those. He's also slept for three fucking hours, and it's fucking Sunday. He rolls over, sticks his head under the covers for the darkness. But it's too hot even for him, and his head is dumb and full of Pi.
He gives up after half an hour or so. There goes his beauty sleep, but it's Kame's own fault.
Did he just think that? Oh, fuck it, who cares. He staggers to the bathroom.
When he comes out again he feels cleaner but no more awake. Before he can even think about how this might go down, he'll need another two hours and at least two coffees.
What time is is there anyway? It's funny, used to be he knew PDT like a second internal clock, and Texas was a bit East. It'll be eight or so.
Coffee. He makes it; drinks it; sits down with his phone. God he's nervous.
He could write an e-mail, of course. That doesn't depend on timezones. His head is blank, but he could explain, he'd have room to think this through.
Who is he kidding, he can't even think now. And he'd wait for an answer and if there's no answer...
He checks to make sure of the time, and why does staring at fucking Google Maps make him depressed?
Eight was right. That means calling's okay for another three hours, for normal people in this job. Unless he waits till tomorrow. Tonight he's in his box.
Eight years, give or take. What's another day?
He drinks his coffee. His stomach hates it.
He needs to think. A walk through the June heat makes him sweaty, endless pavement and pounding beats, and he thought he'd have better ideas without his four walls closing in on him but his brain isn't playing. Broken record, stuck on 'Hi…'.
Three hours of sleep, and a Bakanishi brain.
When he gets home he has another coffee, and his stomach really hates it and his hands hate it, but all the waiting in the world's not going to change that.
The American dial tone makes him feel old, so many years since he heard it all the time, years since he heard it at all. He almost hangs up because that, on top of how he doesn't even know if Pi—
"Hello?" a voice says in English on the other end, and it's all just gone, his head stuttering on empty.
"Hi. It's Akanishi. Jin. Hi."
There's silence, stretching. But that, he had expected. "Jin. Hi. Are you—"
At least Pi knew where to place this Akanishi guy calling him after eight years of nothing. He waits, but next Pi says distantly, "Guys, can you finish with unloading? I'll be outside, I need a moment."
His English is so good.
He hears shuffling and noise and his own hammering heart. Then Pi, in Japanese again, "I have a gig in one hour."
A gay gig in Texas. Jin wishes he was there. "Yeah," he says.
It sounds better than I have five minutes or What do you want? or Fuck off and die.
"How are you?" he tries.
"I'm good," Pi says. "Working, keeping busy. You?"
"I'm good too." If the line was any better, Pi would know he's a liar. "Doing stuff, you know."
"How are your kids?"
His kids. Pi's never even met Sara. "They're fine. They're great."
Silence during which Jin wonders what on earth he could ask about, or say. The weather in Texas?
"And how's Meisa?" Pi says.
"Well, it's... she's fine too."
More silence. You could write a song about that silence.
"I'm sorry I— this feels so weird," Jin says. "I should have called sooner."
"Really," Pi says. "How about you should have not stopped in the first place, you asshole? What the fuck was that about, why'd you stop answering my messages?" It sounds pissed off and hurt and for the first time Jin wants to laugh.
"I..."
"You haven't paid your phone bill in eight years? What the fuck, Jin?"
"I'm sorry, it just…" Okay, to hell with pride. "I was afraid, okay?"
"A… what? When? Before you started ignoring me?"
"Not of you, I was afraid I'd ruin things for you."
"By talking to me." Pi sounds like this is the greatest load of bullshit anybody's ever tried to sell him and he's not pleased.
"By... if you were associated with me," Jin says. "Everyone was hating me and I knew people were getting shit just for talking to me, and then you went to America and it was bad enough that I'd gone there first and I didn't want to create any more problems for you. And also I'm a loser." There it is, in a nutshell. He's breathing hard. "I missed you. But you didn't need to go around with losers."
"I can hang around losers if I want to," Pi says furiously. "Or dumbfucks."
Jin's bones feel suddenly wobbly, but he can breathe again. And smile. "Yeah," he says, "you can, but you've got to allow the dumbfuck to feel kind of responsible."
"Huh," Pi says. And then, "Dumbfuck."
"I'm really sorry."
"You could at least have told me why." Petulant Pi tone, taking him back fifteen years and more.
He rolls his eyes towards the cracked plaster on his ceiling. "And watch you make statements about how dumbfucks are friends too on national TV."
"I—"
"Yes, you would've." Listening to him now, Jin's just as sure of it as he was then.
There's a pause at the other end, Pi giving in without admitting it. Just like he always did. His voice when he talks again doesn't sound quarrelsome at all. "But god, Jin… eight fucking years…"
"Yeah, I… that wasn't the plan. I thought until things had settled, you'd got established, just… time just went by and nothing ever got better and suddenly it was all so far away."
The silence doesn't scare him now. That's just them sorting their brains. Which is always good, when they usually manage about one and a half between them.
"So how are you, really?" Pi asks.
Jin draws a breath and suddenly his filters are off, the sun shining in on him with a sting. "I haven't been doing so well," he says. "Better right now, actually. But it's been…" Lonely. He can't even say how much. "I'm not really seeing many people. Most of the old troop is gone, I got nothing to do with the company anymore..." He takes a breath. "I see my kids when I can."
"When you—"
"Meisa and I split," he says. "Five years ago."
"I read about that," Pi admits, and sure, yeah, Jin's last great tour through the gossip columns, his victory lap. "But Meisa, she's not... I mean, you two don't—"
"No! We're still friendly, she's great, just..." And then it all tumbles out, the hunt for jobs, the lack of money, the stress, his kids and his shitty apartment and the death of his marriage. "Loser," he says, and figures Pi can hear the shrug through the line.
"You should come out here," Pi says, so forceful that it doesn't even hurt that it's impossible.
"I can't," Jin says.
"No, I meant— Oh, of course. Your kids. I'm sorry. I just meant..." He hears an annoyed, familiar sigh. "I'm so glad you called."
Jin nods at the phone and has a lump in his throat, and Pi is silent too. They're a pair of mope-heads.
"How did you get this number, though?" Pi says at last.
"I asked Kame. Keeper of all useful information."
Pi whistles softly through his teeth. "I didn't think he still had time for dumbfucks."
Jin can't help a little laugh. "It's not like that, it's…" How is it? Complicated. Unexpected. "I don't think he's got time for anybody who isn't a problem or the solution to one."
Pi laughs, too. It's got a sharpness to it. "That sounds about right."
"You see him much?" Jin asks. He's got no idea. Doesn't know what he would prefer, for these two to be friends without him or just colleagues, and if it's different from what he'd have preferred an hour ago.
"Not really," Pi says. "He's trying to keep me out of Japan, I've only been back for the mini-tours in the last two years."
"Oh," Jin says. He's safe over there. "I didn't know it was that bad."
There's a pause. Jin can hear cars in the background. "It's not bad. I mean, not like with you. I'm okay. But there's a lot of weird shit going down at the company and we figured it was best for me to stay out of it if I can. Kame's been helpful. He's just..."
It hangs there. Jin doesn't even try to finish it.
"Cold," Pi says. "He's changed. I barely see him when I'm there and then he's got managers on me every minute, like I'm some Junior who can't manage to pee by himself. Like I'll go on stage naked or get some chick pregnant..."
It still makes his heart skip a beat, even as a figure of speech. Jin stares and thinks it fits, Kame being determined that nobody's going to pull an Akanishi on his watch.
"God, sorry," Pi says. "I didn't mean it like that."
"I know," Jin says. "But he should trust you."
"He trusts nobody." It's sobering when Pi sounds cold, too.
"But your stuff is going well," Jin says, "right? Having fun with cowboys?"
"You know about the cowboys?" Pi asks, sounding nervous and much warmer.
"I heard," Jin grins back.
"They're... mostly gay," Pi says, and Jin thinks he can hear him blushing and he's snickering like he's twelve.
"Heard that, too."
"Ha ha ha ha." Pi is rolling his eyes, Jin just knows it.
"I think you were smart," Jin says. "I'm happy it worked out for you."
A door slams, and Pi calls, "Yes, guys, in a minute!" To Jin he says, "Well, it's not baseball stadiums, but yeah. I like it. They don't even mind when I'm dating. It's kind of relaxing."
Jin laughs again. And he wants to hear everything, every little thing.
"Do you need to go back?" he asks.
"I should," Pi says slowly. "Yeah."
"That's fine," Jin says, though the lump in his throat hasn't got that message and probably makes him sound weird.
"Listen, man. You call me again. You hear that? You fucking call me. If you don't, I'll run away from Kamenashi's watchdogs and kill you and stab you. And send me a damn picture of your kids. My e-mail is y-t-0-4—"
"I've got your e-mail," Jin says. "I'll call." And he's got a hundred things going through his head at once, Pi being busy and weird time zones and not wanting to be a pest, but he'll sort it, somehow. "I promise. And I'm sorry."
"Yeah," Pi huffs. "You take care of yourself. Dumbfuck. Send me e-mail."
"I will," Jin says, and knows they could go around for another ten minutes, so he decides to be a grown-up. "Now go be gay and badass. I have to go to work."
Five more minutes after all, because now Pi wants to know about the work. It's just so hard to let go.
But eventually Jin manages to hang up. A click, and it's quiet. He stares at his hand which is tight around his phone, and it takes him a moment to remember that he's not a convict who's allowed one call a month.
He can even e-mail straight away. He sorts through his phone until he finds the picture he took of Sara and Akira outside the haunted house and attaches it to a quick mail, subject line: My kids, braver than me.
Inside, he writes, "Jin's kids, post 00001 of 75000, please stay tuned," and when he hits send, he's already grinning when he thinks of the reply.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 12:09 pm (UTC)(Just had to right away, I'll write a real comment later :3)
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 06:01 pm (UTC)Poor Jin :P Oh well, at least he is thinking some more about Kame in this update. Well a little, but more than not at all! YAY! :D
AND PI! <3 Finally Jin gets his head out of the sand and owns up to his own stupidity when it comes to how he handled his best friend. And Pi handles it so well <3<3 Says just the right things and threatens to kill JIn if he stops talking to him again *_____* It's such a weird and wonderful friendship. So sad that Jin can't go and see him, but I'm even more pleased that Jin realizes that he can't, such an adorable and responsible father.
I will definitely look forward to more Pin :P
Though I will demand more Akame interaction as always (I'm a demanding kind of person... even though I know it's pretty useless in this situation)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 12:22 pm (UTC)i'm so glad, Jin. really..
:)
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:24 pm (UTC)He has a turtle in his life now. Instant improvement on all fronts. :D
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 12:40 pm (UTC)Please please continue to spoil us *begs*
Jin and Pi. So glad Jin called Pi! The Pin love overcoming 8 years of absence.
Brbcrying.
Thank you!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:25 pm (UTC)The Pin love is 4evah!
Thank you for commenting! :D
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 12:55 pm (UTC)And he's got someone on the inside on what's been happening at the Jimusho and with Kame as well.
But I doubt he'll tell Pi about his and Kame's "arrangement" soon.. But knowing Jin, he'll probably slip up and reveal everything to Pi. They've known each other most of their lives..what's eight years of absence..they can still read each other like a book. XD
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:25 pm (UTC)Yes, with a Pi at the other end of his email he'll soon be swamped with intriguing pictures… of food! And Pi can call him with fun stories about his fans. *g*
And he's got someone on the inside on what's been happening at the Jimusho and with Kame as well.
To some extent, but Pi doesn't actually know all that much. More than Jin knows, sure, but Kame is keeping him in America for a reason; he doesn't want Pi to get entangled in the office politics and power struggles.
But I doubt he'll tell Pi about his and Kame's "arrangement" soon.
No, not very likely. :D
Thank you for commenting and loving on Pi!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 01:46 pm (UTC)But this feels so damn good. For Jin to be able to breathe again. Kame is bringing life back to him, step by step. And it's so nice to be witnessing it ;A;
And Jin is so cute with his emails to Yamapi ;A;
"I don't think he's got time for anybody who isn't a problem or the solution to one."
I JUMPED VERY VERY HIGH IN HEAVEN AT THIS.
Jin is soooo Kame's solution. To many many things. I wonder if he'll be to his business' troubles too.
Kame's kind of a superhero, really. Saving everyone's ass. And taking care of others' :")
But the more you let slip about his current self, how cold and lonely and professional he is, the more painful it gets ): Kazuya needs someone to save his ass too. Come on, Jin !
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 01:27 pm (UTC)She quoted that to me when I still hadn't read this chapter and asjhkfhjsdfsdfhjklkdfg. WHAT SHE SAID. *______*
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 01:54 pm (UTC)GUUUH.
JIN SO BRAVE AND BAKANISHI AND PI AND DUMBFUCKS AND.
I LOVE THIS. I LOVE THIS. I'M REALLY TEARY-EYED. KAME IS A GODSEND.
I'M JUST SO SO HAPPY JIN'S GOT HIS PI BACK. THEY ARE SO MADE FOR EACH OTHER WITH THEIR ONE AND A HALF BRAIN, AND THEY JUST FIT SEAMLESSLY.
THANK YOU FOR GIVING PI BACK TO JIN. ♥♥♥
;__________________________________;
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:27 pm (UTC):Dv
I LOVE THIS. I LOVE THIS. I'M REALLY TEARY-EYED. KAME IS A GODSEND.
Wow, okay, we are very proud of ourselves now.
THEY ARE SO MADE FOR EACH OTHER WITH THEIR ONE AND A HALF BRAIN,
LOL, that is… slander. Libel. Calumny. *g*
THANK YOU FOR GIVING PI BACK TO JIN
It was our pleasure. Really. ♥
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 02:22 pm (UTC)Pi is very gentle, that is my strongest impression about Pi in RL, and he is in this story. I think every line he talks to Jin here filled with affection :>
And Kame. Now Jin's life gets better and better, I hope Kame's life will be happy soon.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:27 pm (UTC)Yes, we also get the impression that he is simply a nice guy; steady and reliable and gentle.
Now Jin's life gets better and better, I hope Kame's life will be happy soon.
… we're working on it... *g*
Thank you for commenting! :D
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 04:31 pm (UTC)There's so much been going on these past few days that my brain still hasn't caught up with. My thought process seems as slow as Jin's.
So - if Jin is not part of the problem, he must be part of the solution. I still wonder what brought Kame to Jin in the first place after so many years. My slow brain is making all kinds of plans for Jin's comeback.
Aaand I want to know moaaare about what's going on in the agency that makes it necessary to keep even Pi out of the firing line. Kame protecting everyone is something I still can't wrap my mind around.
Now I hope for daily updates. You can't let us down now, can you? I was shocked that it's already week 6. I know that when you finished posting, I'm going to read this whole story again from the start. <3
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:27 pm (UTC)Yes, that would be right. :) The solution to Kame's 5-year dry spell, at the very least!
I still wonder what brought Kame to Jin in the first place after so many years.
Just curiosity, really, and maybe a bit of worry, after talking to Jin's mom.
Aaand I want to know moaaare about what's going on in the agency that makes it necessary to keep even Pi out of the firing line.
Don't worry, there'll be more of that!
Now I hope for daily updates. You can't let us down now, can you?
Sorry… but we are going to update more rarely again from now. This was just a very eventful week. #apologies
I know that when you finished posting, I'm going to read this whole story again from the start.
We're looking forward to that! Once you know how it ends, some of the beginning may come across in a new light.
Thank you for this cool comment!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 04:58 pm (UTC)Three hours of sleep, and a Bakanishi brain.
Yeah... That can't really ever mean anything great XD
"How are your kids?"
His kids. Pi's never even met Sara. "They're fine. They're great."
They've been out of each other's lives for that long... ;;_______; Hnnnngh. Well. Pi's going to meet Sara one day. He's going to meet her many, many times if it's up to Jin...
"How did you get this number, though?" Pi says at last.
"I asked Kame. Keeper of all useful information."
Pi whistles softly through his teeth. "I didn't think he still had time for dumbfucks."
Hahahaha, I can see these two bonding. They have a point. It's probably good that Jin didn't tell exactly how he's "a solution to a problem". That's probably more suitable for another conversation...
He can even e-mail straight away. He sorts through his phone until he finds the picture he took of Sara and Akira outside the haunted house and attaches it to a quick mail, subject line: My kids, braver than me.
Inside, he writes, "Jin's kids, post 00001 of 75000, please stay tuned," and when he hits send, he's already grinning when he thinks of the reply.
Proud daddy Jin ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ Poor Pi.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:28 pm (UTC):DDD Glad to hear it. And yes, between those two, it's easy. Because they just straightforward love each other, as opposed to being weird about each other. *g*
It's probably good that Jin didn't tell exactly how he's "a solution to a problem". That's probably more suitable for another conversation...
Hee, yes, eventually. In the fullness of time. Not now. :p
Thank you for flailing over the Pi!Feels! ♥
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 05:00 pm (UTC)Oh..my pin heart is so happy right now..I'm glad they're finally worked things out and finding their way to being in each other's life again..Jin's really taking the initiative to fix their friendship (it is his fault for waiting 8 long years to communicate with yamapi) so it's great that it turned out good..
and yamapi is so great here, hearing things out and giving Jin a chance to explain his behavior back then..he must really missed Jin to forgive him that easily..or he understood jin's bakanishi mind though he doesn't approve of how Jin did things..I can't really see them fighting and not talking to each other so I'm really happy that they are fine now..
Thanks for sharing!!!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:28 pm (UTC)Oh, they just have to be. A Jin without a Pi somewhere is incomplete. (Kame will also appreciate it when Jin has a playmate for his crazier ideas. *g*)
and yamapi is so great here, hearing things out and giving Jin a chance to explain his behavior back then..he must really missed Jin to forgive him that easily..or he understood jin's bakanishi mind though he doesn't approve of how Jin did things.
We did think that Pi would just be really happy to hear from Jin again and to finally have an explanation of what happened, so even if he thinks Jin didn't need to do that, at least he now knows Jin was only trying to protect him. In a way that's also a relief. So it's happiness all round. :D
Thank you for commenting!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:29 pm (UTC)Don't ask us about the indelicate puns we sometimes make with that. >_>
It's so beautiful because it's like he's been sleepwalking through the past eight years and suddenly he's just waking up again
Yes, totally! Great way of putting it. (And Kame is Prince Charming who… insulted him out of his slumber. *g*)
Oh wow, I wish I could win the Euro Millions and hire you both to be my personal story writers and then there would be updates every single day!! *slight pause for a gleeful cackle*
We'd totally love to be your kept Akame writers! What a life! *____*
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 06:43 pm (UTC)And then I forgot about the story because dinner was good.So, now I'm here! And I have to say I'm surprised Kame was so quick about sending Yamapi's contact info, though I shouldn't have expected otherwise. Jin really must be tired after an entire day with the kids and then the nightshift afterwards, and then calling Yamapi after only three hours of sleep.
But, I loved it. I was hoping and expecting their call to go well, and yeah Yamapi got angry there for a sec but hey, it's has been eight years and since apparently Jin just stopped replying all of a sudden, Yamapi's got the right to be angry. I am in love with the dumbfuck bits. And that Jin knows Yamapi so well still, and that he did as well in the past and eventually made the right choice. Except that he should've contacted Yamapi again earlier, but, well. At least he's doing it, in the end.
The gay cowboys, oh god I will always love that. I also loved that Yamapi got kind of embarrassed and then Jin giggled like a twelve-year-old. I LOVE THESE TWO TOGETHER SO MUCH. THEY ARE SOULMATES 5EVER.
When Yamapi asks again how it's really going, I just... Aw, these two really are... They just know each other, y'know. And also, I guess it's not hard to figure that Jin's not doing well after his... problems. Still. IT'S FRIENDSHIP I TELL YA.
Oh, and when I read that Yamapi's never even seen Sara my heart broke a little. So sad. :( I hope they'll meet one day, and naturally Yamapi's got to meet Akira too! He can be Shuuji this time! (Yes, I did make that joke. I shall make it whenever the opportunity arises because I am lame.)
About, Kame... It's really sad that he's so cold, apparently, though I really shouldn't say 'apparently' since he hasn't really been much else towards Jin. But, well, they don't spend that much time together so I mostly thought that during work Kame was the professional as always and also a lot more controling than he used to be. Then again, the coldness does shine through in his clothing. I think he's doing everything he can to make sure Johnny's doesn't go down, and if that means he can't dress the way he wants anymore or even act the way he wants, then that's a sacrifice he chose to make. I think. Not like you'll tell me. :P
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:45 pm (UTC)people have to eat? Really...
I'm surprised Kame was so quick about sending Yamapi's contact info, though I shouldn't have expected otherwise.
Indeed! Mr Efficiency strikes.
I am in love with the dumbfuck bits.
:DDDD
Yamapi got kind of embarrassed and then Jin giggled like a twelve-year-old. I LOVE THESE TWO TOGETHER SO MUCH.
Hee, yes, they are also great fun to write together. Bakas.
I hope they'll meet one day, and naturally Yamapi's got to meet Akira too! He can be Shuuji this time! (Yes, I did make that joke. I shall make it whenever the opportunity arises because I am lame.)
Not lame. And Pi will totally meet them, Jin will invite him round next time he's in Japan and he can meet the kids and they can all be silly together!
About, Kame... It's really sad that he's so cold, apparently, though I really shouldn't say 'apparently' since he hasn't really been much else towards Jin.
True! Though he is 'melting' a little bit. He's been cold for so long, it takes time and a good dose of Jinfluence!
I think he's doing everything he can to make sure Johnny's doesn't go down, and if that means he can't dress the way he wants anymore or even act the way he wants, then that's a sacrifice he chose to make. I think. Not like you'll tell me. :P
We'll tell you: YES.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 10:36 pm (UTC)wonderful part looking forward to the next ^___^♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:29 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-27 11:04 pm (UTC)Coming on the heels of the family day out, I kind of want to see Pi there while Jin looks after his kids because I'm sure Akira will be the only "adult" in the group!
While Pi knows a little more about the company situation than Jin, it doesn't seem like he knows all that much either. Pi agrees with Kame's plans to keep him out of Japan so he probably doesn't keep too close an eye on Japan, but knowing how Pi and Jin will inevitably end up telling each other everything maybe future conversations (and maybe even a meeting?) will shed more light on Kame...
Anyway, Welcome back Pi!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:30 pm (UTC)Yes, it helps him to understand that Jin didn't suddenly dislike him or not care any more, but that he acually thought he needed to cut off contact. Even if he's a dumbfuck. ;p
so Pi won't judge and Jin tells him all about life not being very good for the past few years. It's different to the openess with Kame, Jin doesn't have to hide things from Kame because the assumption is Kame already knows, but revealing things to Pi took a lot more courage.
Yeah, Pi really can't be expected to know much so Jin would have to explain a lot more. On the other hand, from Pi he knows he'll get sympathy and no random snarking, so maybe it's also a bit easier than admitting things to Kame.
Coming on the heels of the family day out, I kind of want to see Pi there while Jin looks after his kids because I'm sure Akira will be the only "adult" in the group!
That could be great fun, Akira trying to keep his dad and Uncle Pi in check…
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 01:42 am (UTC)But I absofragginlutely LOVED this one.
I love that Jin's life is getting better and I absolutely LOVE that Yamapi is going to be on it from now on. (that's me getting my priorities straight, see *_* I'm a good girl)
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 08:30 pm (UTC)We noticed.No comment! #evilgrinGlad you liked this one, and that the Return of the Pi pleased you! :DD
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 01:33 pm (UTC)Three hours of sleep, and a Bakanishi brain.
Jin, ilu.
"Really," Pi says. "How about you should have not stopped in the first place, you asshole? What the fuck was that about, why'd you stop answering my messages?" It sounds pissed off and hurt and for the first time Jin wants to laugh.
THIS MAKES ME SO HAPPY. PI TALKING TO JIN LIKE THAT. CALLING HIM AN ASSHOLE LIKE THEY HADN'T LOST CONTACT FOR THE PAST EIGHT YEARS. Pi's not professional with Jin and that's. so. good ;;---; <3 He cares. The both of them do.
"I can hang around losers if I want to," Pi says furiously. "Or dumbfucks."
Jin's bones feel suddenly wobbly, but he can breathe again. And smile. "Yeah," he says, "you can, but you've got to allow the dumbfuck to feel kind of responsible."
"Huh," Pi says. And then, "Dumbfuck."
I LOVE THIS I LOVE THIS I LOVE THIS XDD Dumbfuck <3
If you don't, I'll run away from Kamenashi's watchdogs and kill you and stab you.
Piiiiiiii <3
My kids, braver than me.
Jin, you are such a great and adorable daddy *_______*
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-29 10:10 am (UTC)The asshole-calling is very important! :DDD
Dumbfucks4evah.
We are very happy that Jin called him too and we're happy you're happy! :DDD
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 03:38 pm (UTC)The previous chapter was so cute....Jin and his new troop - all underage....And how he sneakily stayed out the haunted house cause he is supposedly too old... LOL smart Jin, u huh... ;) :P
And this chapter was even more heart warming.....I've had moments where I've not talked to mu best friends for some time...Not years of course but maybe months...? And so I could SO relate to Jin's feelings in this chapter...It was so heart warming and cute...And I'm happy he has someone to REALLY share his life with now....Or will eventually when he and Pi catch up on the 8 years...Cause with Kame....Well knowing Akame....Even when neither of them is cold and neither is a loser...Their communication is always more awkward than friendly/open... :D Cause friends and boyfriends are two different things....Two different types of openness....So it's great Jin's life is taking shape and he's more or less improved all sides of it....Job - check, friend - check, potential rich boyfriend - check.. GO JIN! :)
THANK YOU sooooooooooooooooooooooooo much for the daily updates by the way! As I've said time and time again before I love them so much cause it makes it so much easier for me to follow and to be part of the story... THANK YOU!!! :))))))
P.S.: On the Japan topic, I've not been to Hiroshima yet, despite it being so close...Weird I know but no time.. O_o And I've been to Fukuoka one time but that was actually last year....I was only there for like 5-6 days though cause I came just for the KAT-TUN concerts....But I don't know why....Unexpectedly, it has become my fave city in Japan....I can't explain why..Was like love at first sight :D ...Maybe since the concerts were so awesome so I have lots of memories that make Fukuoka awesome...Maybe cause it was the first time I was in Japan NOT in winter...It was april so the EXACT time sakura was blooming...It was super pretty....Also I liked the size of the city...Not as huge as Tokyo so easier to get around....But yet big enough to have everything one might need..ANDDDD it ha a beach right inside the city limits...So me being in love with the sea/ocean - that was super! :) Before, Yokohama used to be my fave place in Japan....But now it's Fukuoka at place one and Yokohama second... :) Anyways I can rant on and on how much I like Fukuoka but will stop here befoe I exceed LJ's limit yet again....My turn to be nosy....Please share where you have been in JP and what place you liked most.... :)
~rokstary.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-29 10:11 am (UTC)What do you mean, sneakily stayed out of the haunted house? Someone had to watch the bags! He HAD TO!
Their communication is always more awkward than friendly/open... :D Cause friends and boyfriends are two different things....
Yes, exactly. Akame are special and INTENSE and OMG. Pin is different. *g* And also essential. We were actually very happy ourselves this got resolved.
We have to admit that it won't be daily postings from now, this was a special time in their relationship. *g* But we're still... yup, right about now we're halfway in with the word count, so there should still be plenty to read! :D
We are surprised (and pleased) how much people like our sadistic posting schedule, though!
Thank you for this great feedback!!
As for Japan -- we actually did a semi-great tour in 2011: Hiroshima, Kurashiki, Okayama, Koya-san (trying to post a chapter of SDW while monks were keeping us on a curfew -- fun!), Osaka, Tokyo, Kanazawa. Actually, for favourites, we should probably answer separately!
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 04:46 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-29 10:12 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-28 05:26 pm (UTC)On another note, sorry about not commenting on Friday... read it real fast and then had to leave, but it was really good.... how Kame turned into a more mellow mood, and how Jin doesn't hold back from asking and Kame just answers,,, also, five years O.O I did not expect that, I just assumed that the oversexed jerk wouldn't be able to abstain from sex, even if all he had time for would be some one-night-stand or something equally meaningless. But i figure in his position ( especially now) it would be too risky, ne? :)
Also, Jin LIKES it (
who wouldn't? It's KAME.). Oh boy.Would it be an unreachable dream to have Kazuya's take on things?
Please *.*Sorry :P Me just had to ask.
Also, I was wondering, do you have already the whole thing written, or are you actually managing to write it day by day?
Looking forward to tomorrow btw XD
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-29 10:16 am (UTC)Hee, glad you liked Friday!
NO KAME POV YOU HAVE TO READ THE SUBTEXT. THIS STORY IS HARD WORK HAHAHAHA. :p
Oh, no, we are not writing day-to-day! We have the whole thing done (well, 'done', until one of us thinks of yet something else that needs editing) after several editing passes and rewrites!
Tomorrow, today... ;-)
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-29 05:22 pm (UTC)This was written so well too, as usual, Pi is just perfectly how he should be, being angry and questioning and eventually calming down, though I knew he wouldn't deny Jin anyway once he knew the real reason why he stopped talking to him because he's such a sweetie and seriously the greatest friend ever! I mean honestly, after eight years of not talking to someone I don't think I'd be so open to take them back so easily. But this is what makes Pi so wonderful. <333 I think my favorite part of this whole thing is when Jin finally admitted that he wasn't actually doing well and was completely honest with Pi, it takes so much to be honest with someone about your problems, at least for me. I'm one that is almost accustomed to always saying "Yeah, I'm fine" or "I'm good" when I'm not at all, because I don't feel comfortable talking about it, and I don't want extra attention. It's a lot easier to say "I'm fine" as opposed to "No, I'm actually really unhappy with a lot of things and I'm anxious and depressed a lot of the time and I don't want to try anymore." Actually, Jin has it better than me because at least he HAS Pi to talk to IRL, I have no one. I can only talk to a few Internet friends about my real life. ^^;; So I'm really, really happy for him, because I think having Pi back will make him a lot happier and more relaxed. Oddly enough, it's actually thanks to Kame since without him Jin wouldn't have been able to ask for his info. It's funny how once again Kame is turning into the unexpected savior lmao, who is slowly, but surely turning Jin's life around for the better. :3 It's like, it sucks having Kame around sometimes because he's so confusing and his asshole tendencies, but at the same time, it'd be a lot worse without him. I wonder if Jin will ever tell Pi about his and Kame's relationship, because Pi is really the only person he COULD tell who wouldn't completely freak the fuck out, at least not entirely lmao. OH MAN IT'S SO GREAT THEY'RE FRIENDS AGAAAAIN PI YOU'RE THE BEST.
AND IMA LEAVE THESE HERE BECAUSE FEELINGS :'D
And as a thank you XD:
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-30 09:50 pm (UTC)Yeah, Pi is a good, reliable friend who'll give you the benefit of the doubt anytime. And both are willing to just pick up where they left off.
It's a lot easier to say "I'm fine" as opposed to "No, I'm actually really unhappy with a lot of things and I'm anxious and depressed a lot of the time and I don't want to try anymore.
Yes, the temptation is always just to say 'I'm fine' so people don't ask more questions about painful things. But Jin doesn't mind questions from Pi, because Pi is special.
Internet friends are friends too...
You're right, it'll totally help him to have Pi back! And you're also right that he has Kame to thank for this - and not really because of the contact details, but because without Kame appearing, Jin wouldn't even have thought about trying!
It's like, it sucks having Kame around sometimes because he's so confusing and his asshole tendencies,
Awww, you sound like you don't like him. ;_;
LOL Pi is good, we give you that! :) And Jo, in particular, very much appreciates the last gif.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-29 08:43 pm (UTC)I love a lot all the phases, when Jin saw the number, all the insecurities and struggling, fears and how he called waiting for the voice, awkward eith his hopes and how Pi was just fluffy Pi in old pink boxers with naked chest with oil ( old good Pi) and how everything returns to the old place how it always works with friends no matter how many years passes and how many miles between them.
All the bitter remark and thoughts about Jin past that lies in past and can't be returned about his life now.
Kame trusts nobody. Omg Kame you was born to be in mafia rule the world!!! I worship your paranoia!!!!
Thank you for the part :D
(no subject)
Date: 2013-01-30 09:43 pm (UTC)It is! It is practically essential. ♥
PI WITH OILED CHEST IS PERFECT. We love you, Peri.
Kame might do scarily well in the mafia. Except when he gets himself killed for being annoyed with everyone being inefficient and promotions not being merit-based enough.
Thank you for this! ♥♥♥ We're glad you liked it.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-02-10 11:05 am (UTC)and how Jin reacts on having a message of Kame :D
Pi is just great and awesome in stories. ♥
"Cold," Pi says. "He's changed.
I really would like to get the reasoning down to Jin getting married, Julie throwing him out of JE, etc.
Still wondering what exactly started the fight between Julie and Kame. So far I still say the Jissues. There was this nice addition when they go to Kimura and him asking Jin about leaving JE.
Inside, he writes, "Jin's kids, post 00001 of 75000, please stay tuned," and when he hits send, he's already grinning when he thinks of the reply.
Yes, there's a Pi necessary in Akame stories. He needs to be there *_____*
(no subject)
Date: 2013-02-11 05:39 pm (UTC)I really would like to get the reasoning down to Jin getting married, Julie throwing him out of JE, etc.
We'd say it's more complex than that. But obviously Jin leaving KAT-TUN and getting married is where all the problems in this story started. :)
Still wondering what exactly started the fight between Julie and Kame. So far I still say the Jissues.
Hm, not exactly. Sure, that didn't make Kame happy, but he also knew Jin had not exactly done himself any favours, either. When Julie started to go after KAT-TUN and people who hadn't been as rebellious as Jin, that's when he really sat up and took notice. Jin was a start of what was going on, but not as obviously symptomatic.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
Date: 2013-02-18 02:13 pm (UTC)Okay, one thing after the other. *g*
I am starting to wonder if someone gave Jin Pi’s phone number three months ago, would Jin have had the courage to call Pi right away? Or would he have run away, like he ran away from everything else as long as he could?
Either way, it’s great he has the courage now and that it just takes some hours until he dares to call Pi and not days, weeks, years…
And god, Pin friendship. ♥♥♥ Tbh, I kind of knew Pi wouldn’t be too mad at him and just hang up when Jin called. (Because this is Pin we’re talking about!) But it’s very nice to have the confirmation. And I am extremely relived right now, and I’m sure Jin is, too. *g*
"So how are you, really?" Pi asks.
Pi, I love you. ♥ And I love how they’re really back to normal after all the explanations and the clarifying. How Pi just seems to know, Jin probably didn’t want to talk about how things really are just after their first ‘hello’ after eight years. And I also love how Jin is just opening up the way he always could with Pi, because he knows it’s all right now and with Pi it has always been anyway.
But I’m asking myself whether Pi doesn’t wonder more about why Kame and Jin are seeing each other? I mean isn’t that actually pretty suspicious when Jin obviously neither is a problem for the agency and not a solution either?
Kame being determined that nobody's going to pull an Akanishi on his watch.
Or rather Kame being determined that nobody’s going to lay some dirty scandals at Pi’s door? Because Kame doesn’t want Pi to be manipulated into doing things that would damage his image. Pi could get a chick pregnant in the US as well and it would still be ‘under Kame’s watch’ and most likely affect his career in Japan, so….
And I’d say Kame does trust Pi not to do anything really stupid, he’s just not trusting certain people in Japan (like Julie #guessing). Which is why for Kame it is easier to have Pi in the US, because he does care about Pi and doesn’t want him to be involved into dirty business he’s got nothing to do with. And on the bright side, it makes Pi happy, too and he can still do what he loves without having to worry too much and be involved in any kind of mud fight.
But I am really so happy things worked out between them and that they’re good again. Another thing Jin can thank Kame for. *g* Kame, makes your life improving.
And it’s nice how Pi is still so special to Jin and Jin is so special to Pi. And how things aren’t really awkward between them even though they didn’t hear from each other in years. (OMG, so much to catch up on!)
(no subject)
Date: 2013-02-19 08:41 pm (UTC)No, we think he wouldn't have called Pi. He would have... been too ashamed, really. He wasn't really good on motivation for anything, and telling his stupid crappy story to anybody is very low on the list of things he likes to do. He'd have felt there was nothing he could tell Pi, "Hey, I'm calling you to say hi, yeah, I'm not really doing anything, bumming around, hiding from the landlord, yeah. How's Texas?" #embarrassing
But now things are moving, and he's still a loser but he has stuff going on again. It's just different. More self confidence.
Yes, Pi is a bit surprised that Jin and Kame are seeing each other. But in a distant sort of way, he's intrigued but then there are Texan cowboys to
pleasureperform for. :)Or rather Kame being determined that nobody’s going to lay some dirty scandals at Pi’s door?
Absolutely. :) Just, Jin also knows he caused a problem back then, and that something like that would also be annoying. He's still quite caught up in his own failures sometimes, and always quick to blame himself these days.
As for Kame trusting Pi, well. He probably trusts him as much as he trusts anybody, but it's not like with Jin, and he likes to be prepared for all eventualities. His main concern is Julie, but other people he likes have done stupid stuff too and caused damage. So he trusts Pi not to fuck him over on purpose, but People Are So Stupid And Need Careful Watching, you know? >_>
So it's win-win, really, having Pi out there for now. He's safe, he's having fun, and Kame has one worry less. :)